Cake Cake Cake! Cupcakes that is!

For some reason, there is a little bug going around this summer. This malicious addiction is spreading all around the city of Spartanburg. The symptoms include: unbearable urges, late night indulges, and an occasional impulse to sing Amazing Grace! What is this crazy sickness you ask? They are Cupcakes!

And Shaquita “Shay” Elmore, baker and creator of Kingdom Kupkakes Galore, has the antidote!

Known for her Christian based business and delicious “kupkakes,” twenty six year old Elmore is beginning to make her mark in Spartanburg. “I actually started baking about when I was in the twelfth grade for school bake sales,” Elmore said proudly. “I was already in the program to become a nursing assistant, but then people started saying my cupcakes are really good and I should make a career out of it.”

However, Elmore did not see what others saw of her gift. “I already knew what I wanted to do after high school. I wanted to become a doctor or a nurse,” she exclaims. Elmore soon abandoned her gift and focused on her career in the medical field. Beginning in 2007 Elmore attended Spartanburg Technical College and later Winthrop University. However, Elmore never finished. “I moved back home and picked up from where I started, which is a CNA,” Elmore explained. “I actually didn’t remember about my cupcakes until last year, 2014,” she continued. During the holidays, Elmore was preparing some cupcakes for a Christmas event and she felt a sense of passion in her heart. Her friends felt that same passion pouring from their friend’s cupcakes. “My friends were like, ‘OMG, Shay! These are some good cupcakes; you could really make this a business.’” Once again, Elmore did not agree. “I told my friends, ya’ll are crazy! I can’t make this a business; this isn’t what God called me to do,” she said with a vivacious yet humorous attitude as she traveled down memory lane.

Elmore had her heart set on becoming a doctor or a nurse; she thought it was her passion her destiny. Elmore then remembered that feeling of passion she felt in the kitchen baking her adored cupcakes. “I soon realized that, this is what God called me to do.”

Elmore was undoubtedly on her way. She began getting supplies, mastering her craft, and building her brand. “At first it was ‘Shay’s Unique Cupcakes’ but then God spoke to me and told me to change it.” After researching, fasting, praying, and the help from a friend, Elmore settled with the name ‘Kingdom Kupkakes Galore.’ “Galore” being the operative word because she sells more than just cupcakes including: brownies, cookies, chocolate covered strawberries, and the infamous cake pops which are a vast hit at bridal and birthday parties.

11403028_442012145980742_779556844914045802_n

By the time 2015 arrived, her cupcakes were making its way into church events, baby showers, bridal showers, and even birthday parties. Baked from scratch, she does classic flavors like chocolate, strawberry, and a southern favorite, red velvet. She also has gourmet flavors including banana pudding, key lime, and her adorable Cookie Monster cupcakes.

11215176_442023005979656_942452205597976678_n

 

What’s next for the Christian Cupcakes Cutie?

“I am a home based business right now. I want to not only open my own business but I also want to see my treats in the freezer section of grocery stores as well.”

Shine on Ms. Shaquita Elmore. Shine on.

 

Leave a comment